The Non-Opioids Prevent Addiction in the Nation Act (“NOPAIN Act”) (S. 586/H.R. 3259) was reintroduced in Congress by Senators Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Rob Portman (R-OH), and Joe Manchin (D-WV) and Representatives Terri Sewell (D-AL), David McKinley (R-WV), Ann Kuster (D-NH), and Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA). This bipartisan legislation is designed to increase utilization of non-opioid pain management approaches by addressing outdated federal reimbursement policies

This bill would ensure safe, non-addictive therapies are widely available to the tens of millions of Americans who undergo an outpatient surgical procedure every year.1 This policy change aims to reduce unnecessary exposure to opioids and the likelihood of opioid abuse or addiction following an acute pain incident.

Drug-related overdoses and deaths skyrocketed during the pandemic resulting in the highest rates ever recorded. Congress can act now to prevent addiction before it starts and ensuring those who need non-addictive pain therapies can access them. This bill would:

  • Expand patient and provider access to FDA approved non-opioid pain management approaches in all outpatient surgical settings for the next five years; and
  • Require a report to Congress on limitations, gaps, barriers to access, or deficits in Medicare coverage or reimbursement for therapeutic services.

The NOPAIN Act was first introduced in the 116th Congress and gained over 80 bipartisan cosponsors in both chambers. Please join us to ensure Congress enacts the NOPAIN Act now!

Check out our growing list of endorsing organizations.

Learn More


NOPAIN Act Co-Sponsors

Nopain Act Co Sponsors


NOPAIN Act Co-Sponsors

View Co-Sponsors

Close Overlay
You Are Now Leaving